• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Can someone double check my measurements? 6.5 Creedmoor: OAL and Chamber length.

jetracer013

Private
Minuteman
May 13, 2014
Philadelphia PA
I'm new to hand loading for rifle and have been doing a lot of reading on here which , has been extremely helpful but, I still have a few questions. I read the sticky regarding "start OAL" which indicates that I should be jamming the rounds for my OCW tests. I purchased a Hornady OAL guage and believe I have gotten correct measurements but, they seem to be too long.

I have two rifles so I measured both, and what I found is that I would need to be longer than mag length, to get either of them to jam the lands. (using berger 140 hybrids)

Proof Savage pre-fit: OAL: 2.938 Base to Ogive: 2.1935
Rock Creek barrel: OAL: 2.9195 Base to Ogive: 2.178

Does this seem correct?

The other thing I read on here was the "reloading 101" sticky which recommended measuring the chamber and trimming cases "just short of that measurement". Again, I bought the tool, prepped the case and measured. And again, these both seem to be pretty long to me.

Proof Barrel: 1.9445
Rock Creek: 1.942

None of my fired cases were anywhere near this length. Should I just keep firing them until they get closer to the chamber length and then trim? And how close to the chamber length is acceptable?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.