• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Can such brass be resized?

BAGunner

Private
Minuteman
Sep 29, 2010
SFBA, CA
The dents are something like these:
P1020148.JPG

The rim of the neck is "bumped" and it's 0.003" thicker than the actual neck.
neck_rim.jpg

I was using the .335 bushing, because .308 + 0.015*2 - 0.003 = 0.335. It's my first time to resize a brass so I don't know what kind of force I should apply. With around 25 lbs of force applied on the handle, It's really hard to get the final 1/2 inch in. I'm not sure I should really brutal-forcing the press but I did. The first one was ok with doubling the force. but the second brass was stuck in the brass with 1/2 inch still out. It took me literally 10 minutes to get it out. It's a bad experience I don't really want to repeat.

What's the best way to resize such brass?
1. thin the rim of the neck? How to thin it when it's not round?
2. make it a bit rounder using plier? then thin the rim?
3. get a 337 brushing? 339/341 bushing? and let the press do the work?

Thanks a lot.

Re: Can such brass be resized?

Your brass stuck because of lack of lube or the wrong application of it. Hornady
one shot is the most commonly abused lube out there and sticks the most cases.

It's not the neck causing the hard handle pull, it's the base or near the base in most
cases. (pun intended) . The neck mouth dents shown are not a concern.

Depending on your press and how large a chamber the brass was fired in, how
much the brass has work hardened and how much of a shoulder bump are
going
to determine how hard the press handle is to pull. But all this is second to sizing
lube doing it's job. Get some imperial sizing wax.

The rim of the neck needs to be deburred. Look up the tools for it. It has to be