• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Can't zero scout scope on Springfield M1A

Woodkearne Farm

Private
Minuteman
Dec 14, 2021
I purchased a Springfield M1A SOCOM16 this summer. Love the rifle. Bought a Vortex Crossfire 2 Scout to mount on it. The scope is level,the rings are the lowest profile that will work. I can't adjust the scope down far enough to zero at 25yds. It will adjust up for days. I've seen folks using this combo all over the internet with no problems. Is this a problem with the scope,or am I missing something? I'm relatively new to optics,so forgive me if I'm missing something obvious. Thanks in advance!

P.S. Iron sights work great. I put my first rifle buck in the freezer with it a few weeks ago!

Expound? I'm new at this...

Attachments

• signal-2021-12-13-18-29-32-681.jpg
    signal-2021-12-13-18-29-32-681.jpg
    379.9 KB · Views: 339
To clarify what you should be doing: shoot a paper target at your chosen distance of 25 yds, then adjust the reticle to match the bullet Point Of Impact/POI... Is that what you're doing when you find you don't have enough downward adjustment?

ETA: Obviously you should be ignoring the iron sights while zeroing your scope- are you sure the front sight isn't obscuring your view through the scope?

Last edited:
Were the rings torqued to the picatinny rail before the scope was torqued in the rings? If the scope is not properly installed it could cause that. Both rings need to be flat on the mount to start with.

Also make sure the rings are on the tube and not where the scope starts to expand. Your rear ring is very close to eyepiece, I'd move it forward one notch.