• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Carbon Fiber cleaning rod with JAG attached stuck in barrel

Weaver909

Private
Minuteman
Feb 11, 2021
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
So I am new to rifles and I just got myself a Tikka T3X TAC A1 Rifle. When I was cleaning my rifle, the Rod (with a JAG and patch attached) got stuck what felt like half way through the barrel; I could not push or pull it out. I ended up tapping the rod through with a hammer and when it stuck out the end of the barrel there was no patch attached, so it was stuck in the barrel. I then pulled the Rod back towards me and it got stuck again, so I hammered it back out through the barrel. I then pulled back really fast and was able to get the Rod and patch out. I am no expert, but is there a chance that I messed up my rifling? When I look down the barrel I don’t notice anything that looks off, but I am terrified I messed something up.

Another tip I have learned ... make sure you first use a compound that is "slippery", not "sticky". Example ... CLP is slippery - you'll never struggle to get it through the bore. MPRO-7 is sticky - the first wet patch goes through fine, but subsequent dry patches want to stick. I usually use CLP first with a couple of moist patches, let it sit, brush it, dry patch it ... and then use my more powerful MPRO-7 after that initial cleaning with CLP. That works really well for me. My wife kicked everything except CLP and MPRO-7 out of the reloading room ... due to the smell.

It's probably ok.
Are you using the correct size patches for the caliber of your rifle?