• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Carbon Ring, causes?

Modoc

Plays in Traffic
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2009
Northern CA
This came up in another thread and I thought that I would follow @supercorndogs suggestion of breaking it out. I am going to approach this as a novice, even though I have some experience.

Which powders/calibers seem to create a carbon ring? Where does this occour in the barrel? How do we prevent or deal with it? This is something that I have not encountered myself.

Thanks

Clean your rifle properly and frequently. Solves the problem before it's a problem.

Ignore the "over cleaning" crowd. As long as you're not doing things like using abrasives or letting a steel rod beat up your barrel.....you'll never harm it cleaning often.

carbon ring.jpg

"The case to long" is due to the Carbon ring not the case being to long to began with...there are no specific calibers or powders this happens with.
Lotta guys will say varget causes CR's...I can tell you that I have shot a truck load of varget and never had a CR but I have had a couple of them.
Both in 6CM's first one was(IMO)from trimming necks to short and not cleaning, second was from not cleaning, both running H4350....this was a long time ago but I think the first was around 700 rounds second was around 900 rounds.

The second one is what leads me to believe that trimming to short is/was part of the cause. Ruined the first barrel with the drill method of removing it, second barrel at 900ish rounds just got replaced. I've not had an issue sense because i clean every couple hundred rounds now.