• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Case neck lubing

Pickle Rick

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 24, 2018
I’ve seen some stuff on YouTube lately about lubing the inside of the case neck (and even bullet). I was thinking about trying this with dry lube. Anyone ever test this?

Yes, it isn't anything new.

I've been doing it for nearly 50 years and it was old when I was a kid and the old timers taught me... that was before personal computers and the internet... LOL

Aside from the idea that you are introducing a chemical between the neck and the bullet, the main thing to remember is the force on the bullet by the neck is proportional to the product of the neck tension hoop stress pressure times the friction coefficient. The addition of the graphite, MoS2, or whatever, will usually lower the friction force. That means your neck prep and load development must include the effect or it can throw things off.

What I like about it is that it generally reduces the variation of that force, and it greatly reduces the chances of adhesive friction (cold welding) of the neck and bullet.

It adds some work and I don't do it for everything, but I do use it for ammo that must be loaded long in advance of use and for important hunting or match ammo.

Reactions: SERE8541
I lube necks too but do not like any of the dry lube crap. Very gritty. I use a brush and 2 mops. One mop has regular imperial wax on it, medium coating. All are mounted on Frankford arsenal prep station stood on end. Run on lubed mop few passes brush then single pass on dry mop, all while station is on / rotating. Works very well for me loading multiple rifles.

Have you noticed any changes in SD or groupings doing this?