• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Case neck primer flash hole misalignment

Kirkrhunter

Private
Minuteman
Nov 19, 2022
Indiana
I have been reloading for the 7mm Remington magnum for 25 years using a Lyman T-mag press and Lyman dies. I also typically use Lee case trim tools. Today after sizing and case prep, I intended to trim all brass, but the Lee trim stem was misaligned with the flash hole and it would not go into the hole to index off the shell holder. I took a piece of virgin brass and it aligned perfectly. Then I ran it through the sizing die and it was misaligned. I'm thinking the ram on the press might be worn. There is a little play. It could be exacerbated by a die misalignment. I did try a other station on the press, but the problem remained. I'll try using my current dies on a friend's press. Anyone seen this?

I can't imagine a Tmag with more rounds loaded than mine and I don't have that problem. I've never used Lyman dies so they may have worn? Would be curious to know how much run-out a gage would show. Sounds like a ton.

I initially thought it might be a bent stem on the trimmer pilot, but it aligned perfectly on virgiin brass. Then after that new brass was sized, it was misaligned. I think I will start by buying some dies from Redding or RCBS. I'll update if I find the problem.

I initially thought it might be a bent stem on the trimmer pilot, but it aligned perfectly on virgiin brass. Then after that new brass was sized, it was misaligned. I think I will start by buying some dies from Redding or RCBS. I'll update if I find the problem.