• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Cerakote tip?

TresMon

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 3, 2007
NW USA
Looking for suggestions on how to hold very small parts for squirting and baking. Recently did a Beretta TomCat. = Very small parts.

Thanks.

Parts you can't hang with a small piece of wire I typically hot-glue a 6" long bolt or any sort of handle-type "thing" to a part of the piece that isn't visible. Hot-glue comes right off when you want it to.

I'm no pro though, so someone might have a much better suggestion than that!

Reactions: Lapuapalooza
I will wrap a small wire or paper clip around bolts to spray the exposed heads or through the pin holes and then I can just use that same wire to suspend them from a wire rack in the oven to cure. I will also poke the bolt etc through a piece of paper or masking tape to avoid over spray, I then flash it in the oven for 15 minutes or so to harden it just a tad and stop flowing before I remove the paper/tape. Too much longer though and the tape glues will leave gross glue remnants or the paint will cure to the paper leaving a gross edge once cured.

The best method will depend on the part.

Parts you can't hang with a small piece of wire I typically hot-glue a 6" long bolt or any sort of handle-type "thing" to a part of the piece that isn't visible. Hot-glue comes right off when you want it to.

I'm no pro though, so someone might have a much better suggestion than that!
And the hot glue would last through the oven phase without letting loose and dropping the part on the bottom of the oven?