• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Cerakote vs. Duracoat

Re: Cerakote vs. Duracoat

you weigh up the pros and cons between the two and make an informed decision?

smartassery aside, It's up to you, what your funds permit and ultimately what the rifle would be used for.(aka heavy abuse vs range/safe queen) Also depends on whether you plan to do it yourself or get a reputable smith or 'Hide member to do it for you..

Thanks. That search was helpful. The concensus seemed to be that cerakoting is more durable but more difficult to apply well. Doing patterns on stocks is easier with duracoat.

I have no experience with cerakoting, but I was not at all impressed with Duracoat. I sent out a gun for duracoating by a professional and the slightest little contact with just about anything would scratch it. No need for me to try that crap again. I bead blasted the stuff off and ended up just parking the weapon.

If your going to go DIY I have found the air cure cerakote to be much more forgiving than the heat cure, seems less inclined to get runs with it and seems to stand up to the "Oh shit" moment if you barely touch it before it is fully cured. I painted air cure cerakote yesterday at 100 degrees outside and it was dry to the touch and safe to handle in under 10 minutes. Try that with heat cure and you will be stripping to repaint.

Right now I have two stocks going to be a semi matched pair. I went with Cerakote air-cure as a base coat and Im doing some detail work in duracoat becuase I could not get the colors I wanted. If I dont like something I can strip the duracoat and leave the base coyote color and start again.