• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Chamber/ammo questions

Lardbutt

Private
Minuteman
Jul 4, 2020
First off I am kinda new to shooting and certainly new to upgradeing a gun, so please bear with me while I struggle to overcome my ignorance. I have a CZ 457 that I want to replace the barrel on. I have had great luck with Lapua Center X and Lapua in general has been good for me. I know the maxim that your gun chooses it's ammo but is there a certain chamber that likes Lapua?

It seems to me that someone a few months ago here on this forum published a chart of various .22lr chamber types, and their dimensional size. You might try a forum search or perhaps someone will be kind enough to repost it for you. I'm thinking it was a our forum member @littlepod who posted the chart but not willing to put money on that.

I would also think that in addition to the proper chamber, you'd want the proper headspace for the Lapua brand too.

Like Booner said... Headspace is also an important consideration. In my experience, headspace should match your chosen ammo's rim thickness for best, consistent, accuracy.

I don't have any hands on experience to draw upon for this particular chamber, but word on the street is that it was designed specifically for the Lapua family of ammo. It's called the "Nevius" chamber. I've included a drawing of it's published dimensions.
Screenshot_2020-05-26-01-20-56-1.png

Reactions: Booner1334
Thank you Booner. Sometimes I wonder if I am knowledgeable enough to ask the right questions. I will search for chamber discussion. The headspace discussion is at this point left for another day. ;)