• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Chambering your own barrel.

Bigrederic

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2018
Petersburg Alaska
I am wondering who all here on the forum as a whole has done it?? I have been shooting LR rifles the last 4 yrs, and have had several amazing rifles build by a few talented smiths. I am about ready to have another rifle built, and have been talking with some friends that are like family, and they are trying to convince me to give chambering my own a shot.

Before we go crazy with details on much is involved... I will give you a little background on me. I am a retired USCG aviation machinist and was a QA before retirement and I happened to have a FFA A&P. Before this I acquired my CDL all self taught from book reading and yard time over a summer. I have self learned allot of things and have a silly mechanical background. I own a cheaper lathe ( Grizzly right now) and a older encoded Bridgeport mill I bought before retirement. I have been a car and gun hobbyist since I could shoot and get behind the wheel, I have lost count on the amount of motors I have built... even working for after market parts manufacture to point of representing them at trade shows after I PCSed in the military away from the area the company was located.

So during one of my duty stations, I crazy lucky enough to Work for JGS (The Reamer People) for 4 yrs as a side job and my little family was adopted by the Humbert's while we were there. They will forever be a part of of our history and family.