• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Chargemaster 1500 Quirks

christopher.dow

I can use measuring things
Minuteman
Apr 28, 2017
San Francisco, CA
I got a Chargemaster 1500 last week, and now after ~250 rounds loaded, I’ve noticed some quirks. Last weekend, it just stopped dispensing in auto mode. A power cycle solved that. Tonight I was loading up some 6.5 with my just-arrived H4350 and talking with my son who’s home from college. I know, I should focus, but I only get about two weeks per year with him. Anyway, I suddenly noticed that the Chargemaster had been running a while and my precious Unicorn Tears were spilling all over the place. I cycled the power, reset the load and finished the session with no further incident.

Has this happened to any of you? Otherwise, I love the thing. It’s a damned sight better than the Hornady charger it replaced. It doesn’t overthrow as much and it’s a lot faster.

You need to send it back. Mine have never done that. I would find the thread with the reducer insert to buy and it makes it run like a dream.

Another vote for the reducer tube. Makes the over throws less often (1 in 20 or so in mine). Also, warm that Cm up for 30 mins before use, if not it'll drift .1 grains low (at least that is what I have seen with mine). Will .1 matter? Probably not, but it's worth noting in my book....

Wasting Unicorn Tears,
If you have it set up an auto, and hit zero, then it will dispense. The auto-throw is just waiting for the 0.0 (either by replacing the pan on the scale, or you hitting the zero button) and then it will throw your load. Has happened to me a couple of times, but luckily I caught the error quickly.

Reactions: christopher.dow