• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Cheapo ammo for learning

NikolaiS

Private
Minuteman
Jul 26, 2009
Peoria, AZ
www.gothiclabs.com
For a bit of context, I'm a student here on the online training, and I'm on Lesson 4 now.

I hear a lot of people advocating quality match grade ammo, and I'm sure it has its place in proper hands. In *my* hands, I tend to think that extra quality will be completely lost. At 200 yds, I'm still trying to stabilize the reticle on the target, so my "groups" look more like a "spray". (Just ordered a rear bag, so we'll see how that improves things.)

So I use the cheapest ammo I can find. I do use the same brand/type, so at least that factor's consistent. I figure working on the fundamentals right now is the most important thing.

This is a round about way of asking if going the cheap ammo route for now is the way to go.

Nik

Re: Cheapo ammo for learning

Cheepo ammo will not give you reliable feedback. You won't know when your groups tighten up.

If your that far from what "you" would consider basic long rifle shooting skills I'd buy a 22lr bolt action and bone up on good technique with it at reduced distances and reduced target size. Errors in shooting show up at 50 yards with improper technique just like they do with larger calibers at farther distances. You can shoot allot of 22lr and garner good results before "stepping up".

Just a thought...