• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Choice of dies in a 550b

prairiefire

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2010
Nebraska
I have been reloading for several years - most 9mm on my Dillon 550b. Recently, I started reloading 223 as well. Do any of you use different brand dies for each station? I don't like the dillon seater die and use a Lee for that station. Just curious if you all found a specific die you like in each station.

I use different dies when needed. The Lee Factory Crimp dies as an example. I had issues with shaved case mouths and buckling on .38/.357 with the Dillon crimp die. Their taper crimp for 9 and .45 however were perfect for me.

For rifle I've used RCBS, Hornady, Forster, and Redding when there was a need.

• Love
Reactions: sinister
When I was loading .308 and 6.5 Creedmoor in my 550, (pre Co-Ax), I used a Redding body-sizer, a Lee Collet die for de-priming and neck sizing, and Forster Ultra Micrometer seating die. All worked excellently.

for 223 I run Dillon's Carbide sizing die, a redding micrometer seating die with the appropriate stem and then a Lee FC die in last station if I want to crimp (which is maybe 50/50) depending on what I'm doing.
I have run almost every common die with no issues, but I do change out the lock rings on a lot of them

I run a Mighty Armory FL sizing die for 223/308 in my 550 and a Forster Ultra Micrometer seater.

The MA sizing dies are high quality and you can feel how butter smooth they size brass compared to day a Forster or Redding die

I use a variety of dies in my 550.
  1. Hornady die sets for pistol cartridges
  2. Lee factory crimp dies
  3. Forster full length sizing dies for rifle cartridges
  4. Redding seating dies for rifle cartridges