• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Choices

benchmstr

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 10, 2007
CEO Team waffle house
My buddy is in the market for a new rifle, and has narrowed it down to 2.

badrock south fork
Seekins ph2

either way it will be a 6.5 creedmoor due to barrel life…he doesn’t give a damn about weight…and this gun will be flat out tortured..it will likely need a new tube in its first year. He will do every class he can take and hunt with this thing.

also, try as I might I can’t get him to budge on just building his own. So, that’s out of the question.

personally I think both are good..but I have no real experience with either except being on a wait list

Hunting and shooting out a barrel in a year aren't typically the same rifle

I think the badrock is probably the better choice. Factory heavier barrel and weight kit for target and get a dedicated barrel for hunting

Hunting and shooting out a barrel in a year aren't typically the same rifle

I think the badrock is probably the better choice. Factory heavier barrel and weight kit for target and get a dedicated barrel for hunting

I think you missed the part about "taking every class that he can"

Training + practice + a few hunts, yeah a dedicated rifleman can definitely burn a 6.5 anything in 365 days

Training + practice + a few hunts, yeah a dedicated rifleman can definitely burn a 6.5 anything in 365 days
I burned out a 7mm and a 260 barrel last year.
Definitely doable if you shoot a lot.

I’d definitely be looking at the bad rock.

Thats my point though. Not a lot of guys burnout out a hunting barrel in a year

Id rather burn out the barrel that comes on it with classes and throw a proof prefit or similar on it for hunts