• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Chronograph Suggestions

bgeher

Private
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2019
Western Montana
I'm new to reloading amd started out with .223 as a cheaper way to get some practice. I'm ready to start precision 6.5CM loads, and figure I should get a chronograph. I've already made quite the investment into reloading equipment over the last few months, so I would love some recommendations on quality chronographs on a budget. Thanks in advance!

Not sure that it matters but I'm shooting a Ruger PR Gen 2 (24 inch barrel).

I say magneato speed sporter if you’re starting and in a budget. If you want more then go for a labradar for no interference with the barrel.

I have no experience with the Labradar but from what I’ve heard @Lowlight speak of them on his podcast is they are waaaay to sensitive in regards to tipping over and breaking. They need to be ruggedized. He had to send his back numerous times from what I understand.

Last edited:
If your trying to save a few bucks, go this way.
https://www.midwayusa.com/product/896627/magnetospeed-sporter-chronograph ( can find for 160 )
Only one problem is, it's attached to the barrel and will affect POI
So I just check for groups and when I find what I want, bring a few extra loaded ones
and then attach to barrel and check for fps.
If price is no object, then the Labradar is the only one to buy (can find for a little less than 500)
Only two I would look at.

I have a Magnetospeed and love its consistency. The only downside to the M-speed is it changes the point of impact and can affect group size. So I do group shooting without it.