• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Clean Cld Bore Shot with TRG 22?

Bugaboo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 21, 2010
Prague, Czech Republic
I am still learning and don't have the experience to be 100% sure. The rifle is standard TRG22:

How much "off" the zero should the shot be at 100m? What is standard?

Higher or lower?

How many rounds for the PI to settle?

Thanks for answers

Re: Clean Cld Bore Shot with TRG 22?

There is no standard to amount of deviation in the clean cold bore shot vs the follow on shots. Ideally there should be no shift, however sometimes there is but that depends on the quality of the barrel and it's installation. I think the question is are you seeing a deviation in your clean cold bore? If so, about how much deviation?

Like I stated in the original post, I am still learning, so I wanted to take my "input" out of the problem. The rifle is a SAKO factory rifle and shoots excellently (1600 rounds down the bore) - I can make one hole with 5 rounds at 100 and 200 meters (when not, it is entirely my fault). Last week it did wonders at up-to 1000 meters.

But cold bore shots seemed sometimes off - app. 4cm lower at 100m. Sometimes they were right where they were supposed to be.

Now I changed my load and also now I have a Kestrel4500 with Horus, so I can monitor the environment. Like I said above, first of all I blame myself, just want to be sure. Is it possible the bore was "settling down" during the initial couple hundred rounds?

When I had my TRG 22, mine showed no cold bore shot deviation from string fire. However, I did not use reloads, as my ammo was always 175gr FGMM. Hope you are able to work things out, or explain the variation, as they are truly outstanding rifles, IMO.