• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

GB^Zeke

Private
Minuteman
Jun 2, 2013
Green Bay, WI
I'm all for a "if it's not broke, don't fix it" approach but...

I'm new to the sport and firearms in general. I've been working on and just finished a Remington 700 in .308. So far I've run 560 rounds thru it without a cleaning. I'm keeping it oiled and the bolt runs great, I'll pull a bore snake through it a couple of times when I'm done shooting but I have yet to use any solvents or brushes. I'd say 90+% of the ammo ran through it has been the Federal Match HPBT 168 grains, and it seems to be pretty clean ammo. My accuracy is fantastic (for me at least) and I've been shooting sub-MOA since I installed the chassis and was able to run a 5 shot 1" group at 200 yards today, my personal best.

I guess my question is, am I doing damage to my barrel by not cleaning out the carbon and/or copper from this factory barrel? I understand the difference between the two and do realize that there are different products for each. I am not sure if by having that copper build up I am doing any harm. From other discussions here and on some other sites, the common thread seems to be that more damage is done to barrels by over cleaning or improperly cleaning vs. not cleaning enough. I'm starting to get a bit paranoid because of the number of rounds I've put thru it without seeing a decrease in accuracy.

Thanks for any input.

Zeke

I clean my rifles after every 100 rounds, I have been doing that for over 20 years now and never felt I need to clean more or less

I shoot them. I clean them. Sometimes I will put 200-300 rounds on the barrel sometimes it's only 60.

I agree more damage is done from cleaning than from shooting. Mostly improper cleaning technique.

But.....