• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Cleaning requirements for bolt guns vs ARs

captnmo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 19, 2008
Fort Lewis, WA
Quite possibly a dumb question and I know this will solicit a lot of opinions.

I'm new to the bolt-gun craze and just got a Savage 10FCP in .308. I've run a Otis nylon rod with brass brush, Hoppes no. 9 and patches and left it dry with the bolt removed. I'm used to cleaning ARs so I don't understand the differences in cleaning requirements. I've heard about needing a bore guide. Why? Anything else I should be aware of?

My Savage and AR-10 are my babies so I want to make sure I take care of them both but not the same way if they're different.

Re: Cleaning requirements for bolt guns vs ARs

the search function is your best friend, im afraid you just opened a whole new can of worms

I did do a few searches and nothing specifically on this subject. I did browse a few other "cleaning" topics and got bits and pieces that I was looking for, but still some unanswered questions. If I missed it, I apologize.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: captnmo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Quite possibly a dumb question and I know this will solicit a lot of opinions.

I'm new to the bolt-gun craze and just got a Savage 10FCP in .308. I've run a Otis nylon rod with brass brush, Hoppes no. 9 and patches and left it dry with the bolt removed. I'm used to cleaning ARs so I don't understand the differences in cleaning requirements. I've heard about needing a bore guide. Why? Anything else I should be aware of?

My Savage and AR-10 are my babies so I want to make sure I take care of them both but not the same way if they're different. </div></div>