• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Clip on NVD considerations?

Mongoose0311

Private
Minuteman
Sep 20, 2018
Tampa, Florida
Recently picked up a PVS-22 for some night time hog slaying. Outside of PVS-24's mounted on my M16 in an OP I have no real experience with clip on units and am more than capable of admitting when I'm ignorant on a subject. Thus, leading me here to learn about any considerations of shooting with a clip on device I may be overlooking.

I already have an UNS mount, so the rifle is ready to rock.

Get yourself a good illuminator. A Luna or spir would be good choices of you don't have a pvs-14 headmounted. I'd say look into a dbal d2 or mawl if you do. The it laser is invaluable for snap shots.

If you don’t have the side rails for auxiliary stuff there’s all kinds of stuff to mount to a scope or scope rings.
Badger makes a nice scope ring set up with a rail. Similar to Nightforce RAP.
I put a quick detach on my illum.
Having it closer to reach on the scope is nice if it’s adjustable.
I usually turn down the gain to where you barely see before turning on illuminators.

C8E36E4B-4DDA-46B4-B2FD-CA8F0BED5D5D.jpeg
52976AA4-54A8-4D88-A29A-E14CDCC764A9.jpeg

That they are.
Then one fix would be to put one of these on your rig. https://www.nightforceoptics.com/riflescopes/accessories/top-half-ring-accessories

From your pic, looks like you have a trusty old NXS on the gun. If so, that would be a 30mm main tube and you would use part #A428.
SportOptics has them in stock for a smidge over a hundred bucks. https://www.sportoptics.com/nightforce-accessory-platform-a428.aspx

Looks like this when in play.
A decent IR Illuminator will supercharge your PVS22.

20171125_132711.jpg

./