• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sharpline

Taco
Minuteman
Sep 20, 2009
Colorado.
I am very new to long distance shooting. I recently set up my Remington 700 with a leupold 4.5x14x50 and a harris bipod. I just received a new impact data book. Looking though it I found the Cold Bore section, with temp, humidity, baro, altitude, range, position, ext. I searched cold bore and understand it as your first shot (not really a cold barrel per say). Can any help me to utilize this section of the book, or is this something that I will understand the more I shoot?

Re: Cold Bore Data

Cold bore data is really something that you build up over time as you learn how your rifle shoots in different environmental conditions. The more you shoot the more you'll notice trends in where the first shot impacts compared to the subsequent shots fired and use that information to hopefully get more first round hits. Some rifle and ammunition combinatioins will have no difference between the cold bore shot and the other rounds to follow, some may shoot a little differently. I hope this helped to better explain things.

It does, can you give me a little help so I can notice trends. How does temperature affect the bullet flight? I assume the more humid it is the larger the drop. Same with the pressure (barometer). Higher the altitude the less drop. Am I on the right track?
The compe up sheet in the book, is that similar to the cold bore?