• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Cold bore shot help

KOOutdoors

Private
Minuteman
Feb 29, 2012
Michigan
I have about an inch high cold bore shot.(barrel had about 20-30 shots threw it) Shots 2-4 are holding together good. I'm new to long range shooting.

I'm curious if this is normal?

How do I accommodate for this while hunting?

Do I create two different ballistic programs?

Any help would be appreciated thanks

Attachments

• .jpg
    .jpg
    3 KB · Views: 50
Last edited:
If your cold bore shot is repeatable, you will just need to compensate for it. It is also important to understand the difference between clean cold bore shots and fouled cold bore shots. It is very normal for a rifle to throw the first cold bore shot, but if you can document and repeat it, you can make a first round hit based off of your data.

Also remember, your talking minute of deer, its a big target but a miss is still a miss.

the barrel was fouled already. so if I'm shooting 1000 yards ill be aiming 10 inches lower than follow shots?

I wouldnt base that off of one group, I always do a 1" dot at 100-200 yds and fire the first CBS at the dot, you will see a patern. If you can use the same target to fire multiple CBS into, you will get a consistant group, but again you want to be able to duplicate this many times. You may also want to play around with dry graphite, many shooters will put a patch with graphite down the bore and find their CBS will be closer to POA. I use BN coated bullets and have a very minor CBS shift, around .2-.3" from POA

You may also want to play around with dry graphite, many shooters will put a patch with graphite down the bore and find their CBS will be closer to POA.