• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Coming back from shoulder surgery

paraman1

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 10, 2003
Boise , Idaho
I had shoulder surgery last July and while the shoulder has healed nicely I am struggling to get strength back in it . I have access to a full gym and was wondering what I should be working on to help with strength . I work in construction and have had to really alter my work patterns in order to do jobs that used to be easy for me .

Any help here ?

A good physical therapist can help you with flexibility and strength training. The shoulder is a very complicated joint, and the pros know which way to bend it and exercise it to get it back to as normal as possible. I destroyed my collar bone up in the shoulder area, and after a good surgery, the PT got me back to nearly 100%. Took a few months and cost a bit, but it was worth it.

What kind of injury happened to ur shoulder. I'm an old baseball pitcher that went thru all kinds of shoulder problems and lots of rehab.

I tore my long bicep tendon loose along with a chunk of the labrum . I also had a bone spur that was impinging on some nerves so they ground it out . Spending 4 months with a 1 pound lifting restriction left my right side pretty weak .

U need to make sure u build all the small muscles that attach with the tendons. U will have to do that with light weight and 15 to 20 reps. Dr Andrews in Birmingham Alabama opererated on my shoulder. He is one of the well none surgeons in the world and gave me multiple programs u can do at home. U could contact me at 205 2424244 and I could get a program sent

You're about to become very familiar with surgical tubing, and later the smith machine. Go slow. Learn proper stretches.

Good luck