• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Compared: Zeiss Victory HT, Meopta R2 and S&B Polar T96

Stooxie

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Oct 11, 2018
Northern VA
Hi everyone,

Through some crazy sales, coupons and other financial chicanery I managed to get some nice optics over the last couple years. I thought I'd provide my thoughts on how they compare. A few caveats up front. My use case --thus far-- is deer hunting, under 200 yards. Not doing long range shooting or dangerous game or knocking the scopes around a truck. I am comparing these scopes primarily on image quality (whatever that means) and a few practical attributes as they relate to sighting in and field use. As always, these things are very subjective. I am not a professional, just someone who's spent a lot of time behind a scope trying to lay down some deer.

If this helps any fellow over thinkers, hoarders or second-guessers, I've done some good! Feel free to ask me any questions or correct me if I have any terms wrong.

The models:

Zeiss Victory HT 2.5-10x50 #60 illuminated reticle (illuminated pin prick in the middle of a German 4A)
Schmidt and Bender Polar T96 2.5-10x50 L7 FFP illuminated (illuminated "+" in the middle of a German 4A)
Meopta R2 2-12x50 4C illuminated reticle (round dot in the middle of a German 4A)

All of these scopes are terrific and everything below is absolutely splitting hairs. There were some interesting discoveries, though.

In no particular order, and don't draw any conclusions from any single attribute:

Color
By color I mean color palette and how the scopes pass various parts of the spectrum.
Victory HT: Cooler image, passes more blues.
Polar T96: wonderfully vivid, very full spectrum. Seems well balanced