• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Comparing reloading die sets.....RCBS vs. Redding

bbush

Private
Minuteman
Aug 23, 2009
I am just getting into reloading and had a question about buying my first die set. I am trying to decide between the RCBS 3-die set (20904) and the Redding 3-die set (80209) for my Marlin 45-70. I have read that both seem to be really good brands, but most people seem to give the edge to Redding over RCBS when comparing the two. If it matters, I just purchased a RCBS Rock Crusher kit, but I know either will fit it. First, I would like to know what is really the big difference between the two brands and what makes one better that the other. Second, I would like to know if the price difference between the RCBS and the Redding is worth it. I can get the RCBS die set for $40 total while the Redding set will be about $75 total. I realize that the 45-70 isn't exactly a sniper caliber but I would like the ammo that I turn out to be as accurate as possible. Besides, I am in the process of building an accuracy AR-15 and whatever brand I go with on this caliber will probably be the same that I go with when it comes time to start loading .223 rounds.

For what you’re doing, probably no difference except for cost. I think Redding is generally overpriced, especially when you get into the match stuff.

No need to stay on the same track with the .223. See for yourself what other die sets are like.

Reactions: Steel head