• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Complete Noob with new addiction.

d.hodgee

Private
Minuteman
Long time Hunter/Plinker looking to take it up a notch.

I have been looking at the Remington SPS-V/T in 308.

I also have an older 90's model remington700 in 30-06. Long action obviously.

I have been considering working off of it rather then buying a whole new rifle. But, I realized it does not have anybody metal compared to all the ones I have seen here.

What do you guys think about working off of my old rifle? Is it worth it?

Re: Complete Noob with new addiction.

D,

For what it's worth, there is no reason to think that your Remi700 is not a solid pick if it's been an accurate, solid performing rifle. The 30-06 is not very "glamorous" and doesn't get much press, but I bet you'll find that you'll be fine with it. As food for thought, I'll mention the following:
1. There is a TON of good load data for 30-06, so if you enjoy handloading and tuning your loads, it's a great choice
2. Federal and Hornady both make match loads w/ SMK's (that are about the same price as 308 and people actually have 30-06 in stock), and you still have a great selection of hunting ammo
3. You can take a Remington 700 to almost any decent gunsmith and have quality work done...which would enable you to build on that same rifle over time...parts are everywhere and you have a wide selection of stocks, accessories, etc
4. There isn't a lot you can do with a 308 that you cannot do with a 30-06 (and some would point out there is MORE you can do with a 30-06)