• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing Considering a Win M70 for hunting, good stuff??

RobG

Douchebag Hauler
Minuteman
Jul 20, 2007
W. Sac, Kalifornia
I am looking at a used, mid 70's M70 as a hunting gun. Its in 25-06, barrel getting worn, finish is a bit worn, overall solid mechanically. I'd probably shoot it as-is for a time then rebarrel to .280. I have no experience with Win rifle's and am looking for some comment's good and bad.

Thanks

Re: Considering a Win M70 for hunting, good stuff??

In my opinion the M-70 is the best action out there.

I have several, target and hunting rifles and have no complaints what so ever.

For a hunting rifle I don't think you'll find a better rifle.

Many people do not like the push feed Winchesters. I would not hesitate to buy one if the price was right. I have several pre-64 and a few post 64 70s with the controlled feed action. They, and commercial Mausers, are my favorite hunting actions.

A real safety

A trigger that can take being exposed to the elements

Two main attributes that make it much better than a M700 for carrying around loaded.

Push feed? Here is a list of other push feed, open top receivered rifles. You make the call on whether or not that is good enough for you. M1, M14, Savage, M700/721/722/725 Remington.... The USMC M40 sniper rifles are push feed, the Army M-24 push feed... both of them are used for game that fires back at you.

I have 2 model 70 30-06 one in a hunting platform and one in a target platform. I've never had any issues and they are both push feed.

Actually, from the perspective of the people who made the choice, the M 24 and M 40 are used for game that fires back at someone else.