• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Correct Magnification Range

bhux

Private
Minuteman
Mar 25, 2024
Kansas
New guy here. I am going to be getting a bolt gun in a few months and am debating what magnification range will be best for my needs. I am new to bolt action guns and anything that will be effective past 400 yards. After looking through the shorty rifle thread, I am looking at getting a Ruger American Gen 2 Ranch in 6.5 creedmoor if it is available at that time. It is going to be mainly used for coyotes and deer with the occasional plinking out to 1000 yards. I have a relative that is upgrading and will sell me a Burris XTR II 5-25 for $500 and eurooptic has the 3-15 for the same price at the moment. Would the 5-25 be too much for my needs or will the 3-15 leave me wanting for more?

For coyotes I would lean pretty heavy toward the 3-15, that mag range is also plenty to work out to 1k and beyond for steel work.

Coyotes are moving targets and big field of view is a big help especially if you have multiple coyotes coming in.

For steel shooting I rarely go up to 20x usually I am between 12-16 ish during matches. I use the higher magnification for sighting in only.

We have another recent thread about what actual magnification is needed. Out to 400 yards, you might not ever go above 10x. The YouTube channel West Desert Shooter talks about this. Even at 1,000' yards, he is only at 16x.

Going anymore puts him in too much mirage and wavering. However, a 25X might help in seeing some details or ranging with the reticle. I happent to like 5-25 for the eyebox and eye relief. But I usually not at 25x.