• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing Coyote Hunting Tips

YotaEer

Montani Semper Liberi
Supporter
Minuteman
Nov 3, 2019
Pittsburgh
I’ve been attempting to coyote hunt for about 6 months now with minimal luck. Grand total of 1 called in. I started out with some hand calls and a cheap Icotec. I think the hand call is what actually called in my lone taker.

I’ve since upgraded to a lucky duck revolt and it’s a much nicer unit than the icotec but no luck with it yet. I’m debating grabbing some more hand calls to supplement the e call. Maybe they’ve become to educated near me in PA?

overall, I have some big farms to hunt on and will continue to reach out to landowners/Craigslist ads for more. I’ve also only hunted at first and last light. No night hunting yet.

any tips for a struggling newbie? Transition to all hand calls, commit night hunting only?

Since you are hunting during daylight hours, you might want to add a visual aid such as a decoy/wiggler

Some examples...

I have a decoy attachment on both my ecallers.

the one I actually called in using a closed reed rabbit call back in March was locked in on the decoy as I left it running. I’m debating on ordering a set of carver rubber hand calls but still bring along the smaller icotec purely for the decoy.

Let's see..... Hide your vehicle... be quiet... watch the wind....don't start calling to loud.... move sparingly and slow...repeat. Set up with an open field on your downwind or set up so you can see your downwind. Never give up .