• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Critique my reloading procedure

BC 6.8

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 31, 2013
SC
I've been reloading for about 6 months and I need some help from you guys that know much more than me. I only reload for 223/5.56 and 6.8 SPC right now, but will eventually reload for some bolt actions. I have a few loads that seem to work pretty well, but I need some help with my reloading procedure. I will concentrate on 223 for now, but I use the same steps for 6.8.

Reloading steps:
- Deprime brass with Lee decapping die
- Clean using STM
- Resize with FL dies to bump the shoulder back .003"
- Uniform and ream primer pockets, uniform flash holes, trim, chamfer case mouth inside and out
- Clean off sizing lube using STM
- Dispense charge using Hornady Auto Charge and check on RCBS 502 beam scale (I reject loads on the beam scale that appear to be off by more than 0.05 gr. I know the scale is not accurate to 0.05 gr, but measurements are all relative.)
- Load charge and seat bullet
- Check ogive length (+/-0.001)

I'm reloading with 1x fired Hornady brass right now, but I have some LC brass that I want to test. I separate my brass into 1 gr lots. I run a load of 24.3 gr Re15/ 75 gr HPBT through my AR15 with a SS 1:8" twist, 18" BHW barrel. I did an OCW test to find this load. Accuracy is pretty good with 3 shot groups around 1/2 MOA at times and 5 shot groups 1 MOA +/- 1/4". I have chronographed the load several times and it runs 2650-2700 fps in my barrel.

Here is my problem. My SD can go from 15-25 and ES from 50 - 85 fps for 10 shots, and 5 shot groups can go from 5/8" to 1 1/4" at 100 yds. How do I improve my reloads?

Thank you for your responses.