• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Current AR 15 Scope question

Snip-er

Private
Minuteman
Dec 23, 2017
So I have a Vortex Spitfire 1x on my AR 15. Its a nice scope, but I'm thinking about going to a magnified scope. First would like those of you who know a lot about scopes if I should keep the Vortex Spitfire or look for something with some magnification. The reason I'm looking is my eyes aren't what they used to be even with corrective lenses. Looking for some advice on what to do and what you guys think about the Vortex Spitfire.

What do you use the rifle for and whats your budget for a new optic?

I've got no experience with that particular red dot but its probably on par with the other imported red dots out there. They tend to work well for most but don't hold up to the same level of abuse as an Aimpoint.

What do you use the rifle for and whats your budget for a new optic?

I've got no experience with that particular red dot but its probably on par with the other imported red dots out there. They tend to work well for most but don't hold up to the same level of abuse as an Aimpoint.

Just for plinking at the range. I don't hunt, but I do want to maximize the distance of the AR when target shooting. Budget, $500 or under

A red dot is great for home defense or close quarters, but not great for much precision past 100yds. If you want to do both shoot at longer distances and up close I think a 1-8 LPV scope is the perfect scope for the AR platform type rifle. You got 1x or as close as you can get on the low end and 8x on the high end which is plenty for reaching out to 600+ yds.