• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Custom barrel for DT 300 Norma

OfRoggeveen

Private
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2021
South East
I'm new at this, so I'd like input on what the specifics need to be for a custom barrel. It'll be for a Desert Tech SRS rifle, primarily shooting 250 grain A-tips.

I read somewhere that a 1:7 twist is the fastest Hornady recommends for this bullet. But, when I plug that into a stability calculator, it tells me such a twist rate/load combination is only "marginally stable". So should I go with a 1:6, or 1:6.5? Or will the bullet come apart?

I'm planning on a 28"-30" barrel.

Thanks!

You may need to specify you want the throat cut to handle the 250s. They're pretty long bullets and I had trouble getting them to seat well in a standard throated barrel. So I had a new barrel made that was specifically throated for 250 A-Tips, and it's noticeably longer than the standard throat that I can't seat 220s without them jumping a significant amount.

And just to pile on, the 1:8 twist is good for the vast majority of bullets shot for this cartridge (200-250gr). The only reason I have a couple of 1:7 twist barrels is specifically to handle heavy solid bullets that are so long that they require a faster twist.

Reactions: OfRoggeveen
Can you explain to me why that is? Do the stability calculators need to be taken with a grain of salt?
Hornady even states that 1:8.5 is enough. I would go with a 1:8 or if pushing them over 3000fps a 1:8.5. way over spinning jacketed bullets can cause issues.