• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Custom Build - Advice appreciated

RAWHDE

“I have seen enough to know, I have seen too much”
Minuteman
Nov 13, 2012
Houston, TX
Hey all,

I am prior military guy who has not shot in 15 years but decided to pick up long range target shooting as a hobby. I'm having a custom rifle built (I know I should probably start out smaller but I figure go strong or go home). Anyway, I was looking to have something built that was a close reproduction of the M40A1 which is what I had in my armory while in the service and loved the look/feel of it. I did make some changes but since I'm fairly new to all this, I would appreciate any advice anyone could give on where I could improve (without breaking the bank) or if I'm making any mistakes...here it is:

Blue print action and bolt
Bush bolt
Kreiger M24 barrel 24" 11 1/4 twist...barrel 1.2 for 4" and tapers to .920
McMillan HTG M24 stock in forest camo with badger M5 bottom metal plate
Timney trigger
Refinish steel in olive drab green
Muzzle break

I would also like Witchita swivels...anyone tell me where the best place to find them is?

Thanks for your help.

Re: Custom Build - Advice appreciated

Have it swapped to an adjustable cheek piece on the HTG. It is far too low for most scopes, out of the box.

I'd probably skip bushing the bolt, it probably won't need it.

Additionally, I'd have flush-cups installed, rather than swivels. I'd also want a rail instead of studs for the bipod. That way you can get a QD mount for a Harris or run an Atlas if that's your flavor.

Honestly, in general, the HTG is dated and needs updated. The rail, flush cups, and adjustable cheek should be a good start in bringing it up to snuff.