• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Custom gun build??'s

mr4mojo2risin0

Private
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2010
Zanesvlle,Ohio
Thinking about building a 600 yard gun. I am new to this scene and was trying to get some info from you experienced shooters. First of all I need some input on calibers to research. I reload but was looking for a standard caliber since I have no experience with making my own brass and fireforming. As soon as I decide on what caliber I will be back to ask questions about components, and gunsmiths. Any input from you guys is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance from this NEWB!

Re: Custom gun build??'s

Call William Roscoe, you will NOT regret it... I have shot a few of his rifles over the past two years.

For a standard caliber, I'd look into the 6BR with a .271 or .272 neck. Throated long enough for the 105-107 gr. bullets.

There's lots of other calibers, but that's where I'd start.

There's a whole website full of info. if you head over to:

6mmbr dot com

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mrmojo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thinking about building a 600 yard gun. I am new to this scene and was trying to get some info from you experienced shooters. First of all I need some input on calibers to research. I reload but was looking for a standard caliber since I have no experience with making my own brass and fireforming. As soon as I decide on what caliber I will be back to ask questions about components, and gunsmiths. Any input from you guys is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance from this NEWB! </div></div>

Build a 260 or 6.5x47 Lapua and dont look back

6.5CM if you want to shoot factory ammo