• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Custom Rifle vs. Assembling chassis rifle that takes prefits

pnorris

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 3, 2012
I am looking for a good quality rifle that shoots 223 Wylde. I have spent a ton of time researching. If I go the chassis route with an action like the Curtis Vector or similar that takes prefits, what am I gaining by going through a smith. Other than costing well over a thousand more for the finished product, do I gain anything? Many of these chassis rifles, assuming you confirm that your action and trigger will fit, appear to be lego rifles. Plop in your barreled action with the trigger installed, torque the action screws and you are ready to rock as long as you confirm which magazines will work. I am pretty new to precision bolt rifles so please educate me if I am wrong.

Your very close. It's all about how much you want to spend. "You just got to figure out who you want to impress"

With my motorcycles, my other passion, I stopped with all the poserific add ons or "farkles", as we called them. I only like what truly works, however, if a smith can make a substantially better rifle, using the chassis as a basis I am all ears. I just don't understand what dillo dust they might sprinkle. I just want to understand and make a good choice.

Your paying a smith to ensure there’s no problems.

It may all LEGO together (mine did) and it might not.
If you avoid triggers hangers and odd sized bolts that would probably up your odds.
The slap a. bolt action together game is different than the slap an AR together game.

If you like to build your own shit and figure out any problems yourself, piece together your own gun

If you just want an”easy button” answer, buy a completed gun