• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Cutting barrels to length with a band saw

LC 6.5 Shooter

Apollo 6 Creed
Supporter
Minuteman
May 29, 2018
League City, TX
Do I need an expensive bandsaw to cut barrels to final length? Im just a hobbyist getting into doing my own barrels. Which wont be a whole bunch. So I dont want to go get $1k+ bandsaw for the little use it would get.

A good bandsaw can be a handy tool for several reasons, but I certainly wouldn't buy one just for chopping barrels.

Any reason that you're not just using a parting tool on your lathe to cut the barrel?

If it is a high quality low round count barrel, use a lathe and recrown it properly, if it is just an off the shelf quality or older barrel, use a hack saw and buy an inexpensive crown repair tool.

pay the $100 and have a gun smith do a cut and crown for you...

...much better than wasting a $500 barrel trying to cut it down with a hacksaw.

Reactions: Snuby642
A good bandsaw can be a handy tool for several reasons, but I certainly wouldn't buy one just for chopping barrels.

Any reason that you're not just using a parting tool on your lathe to cut the barrel?
Not a particular reason. Have heard of people using parting tool and bandsaw.

I am scheduled to do some training in December with Speedy Gonzalez. So Ill wait and see how he does it and go from there. Just wanting to know in general what people use.

I’ve done a bunch with a hacksaw and the Brownells facing/crowning cutters. They work awesome.
F263BF20-3D19-4768-84B1-C72478CA4DA4.jpeg

I am scheduled to do some training in December with Speedy Gonzalez. So Ill wait and see how he does it and go from there. Just wanting to know in general what people use.