• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Cutting Down A Barrel: The unknown ins and outs of those who've been there and done that.

Rockdoc173

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Aug 26, 2014
    Florida
    I have a Savage model 110 30-06 that I'm seriously thinking about cutting down from its original 24"+/- to a more maneuverable 18"-20". I've never done this to a rifle before (or rather HAD it done) so, good, bad or otherwise, I don't know what to expect. I was told by a buddy that I can expect to loose 100 FPS per inch removed. So, for instance, if I cut four inches off the barrel then I loose 400 FPS off my velocity. Is this an accurate guesstimate? What other changes might I encounter if I do this? The gun is primarily a bench gun that is almost never asked to reach past 500yds. Thanks for the input folks. As someone new to the long range world, I'm grateful for your wisdom and advice

I'd expect about 40 fps per inch, but of course that can vary with powder used and such.

Welcome to snipers hide.

If you want a handier rifle then cut it down to 20" and call it a day. The "100 FPS per inch" of barrel removed is just a rough guide. Some cartridges may lose more or less velocity than others per inch of barrel removed.

Make sure the gunsmith that cuts the barrel down puts a nice sharp crown on it. While you're at it might as well thread it and have him make a thread protector just in case you decide to put on a muzzle brake or something.

It depends on caliber (chamber). A .300wm vs. a .308win. as an example. The .300wm will have a greater loss or gain in velocity with the amount of barrel length added or shortened.

A good rule of thumb is 25fps. per inch for an average.