• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

CZ 455 Manners pillar and glass bedding (first timer)

GordonsGarage

Dumbass, with a piece of paper that says I'm not.
Minuteman
  • Sep 15, 2020
    KY
    Searched the forum here and couldn't come up with much info on bedding a CZ with the manners stock, so I just jumped right in.
    Disclaimer, I'm no expert, in fact this is my first glass bedding job, I'm typically more of a chassis guy, if you've bedded before just pass this one up, it has no new info for someone that's done this before. This is more intended for someone like me who wants to try bedding but not sure if they're ready to jump in or not on their CZ.

Before starting any work, I took a pencil and scribed a line down the action and barrel even with the top of the stock so I would know where it should sit when done. I then removed the barreled action and wrapped blue tape very tightly around the barrel (as close to the end of the fore end as you can) until I could dry fit it back in the stock without the the barrel or action moving when bumped around, and with the pencil line even with where it was when the barreled action was bolted in the stock. This lets the action and barrel sit at rest in the proper place without being bolted down.
    Now to the stock prep, I started with clamping the stock in the vise and milling two relief grooves for bedding to bond/be thicker in, this could also be done with a dremel, nothing exact about it.