• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision D760 6x vs. Raptor 6x

Disasterpath

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 21, 2008
Ca
Ive been looking for a night vision scope to that I can use on a .338 Lapua that will let me be able to see steel targets out to 600 yards. Looking at the D760 6X and the Raptor 6X with gen 3 tubes. The D-760 says it has a human detection range of 475 meters while the Raptor has a detection range of 2425 meters. Is the Raptor really THAT much better? The raptor is a little over 2 grand more but if those specs are correct then it would be worth the extra money. Thanks

Re: D760 6x vs. Raptor 6x

You want to choose between a D-760 Raptor & other 'similar' D-760 body styles in gen-3 . I am no expert but I can give you my Sunday night opinion, as I get to look through a Raptor once in a while.
The huge discrepancy on the distance of viewing/recognition with your 2 choices given ? With the D-760 6x body style & all things being equal with all being gen-3 tube quality, & circuitry. I don't think would be that big a difference .
For 600 yrd. like you are asking . I think Any 760 gen-3 body style is going to GTG for you .
As far as someone having 2 units @ the same time to make a comparison in all the same conditions ? (Victor tnvc) on this website might have looked @ both in a sideXside viewing with his own eyes . Or some other dealer ?

The loose term ( human detection range ) very random, general & not very precise for measurement ? .& what was , Quoted ...." Human detection range of 2425 meters ".
was that With or Without IR supplement ? & with how much Stellar ambient ? what Terrain ?