• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Daniel Defense Delta 5

race_bannon

Private
Minuteman
Apr 22, 2019
TN
I did a search of the forum for the Delta 5 but couldn't find much. I guess because there aren't any out in the wild?

I am getting into the bolt gun world and I'm trying to decide which rifle to start off with. I have been shooting for roughly 15 years and I know what I want out of what I get but I don't know how to go about it. Should I start with something like a Ruger Precision Rifle, a Begara, or is the DD rifle I'm eyeing the way to go?

What I want: a .308 that is capable of printing 1 MOA or better, 20" barrel, something with M-LOK for attachments, and very solid stock. The DD comes from the factory with all of this plus a Timney trigger. The Begara checks all those boxes but I would most likely put a Magpul PRS stock on it. The Ruger rifle seems to be the least expensive to get into, but I feel like I would have to put money into to get it where I want.

I have decided on the Leupold MK5 5-25x56 Tremor3 for an optic.

Any feedback or opinions on where/how I should start would be very appreciated.

Reactions: Tmm01
for $2000+ ....

a lot of people on here are going to tell you that you can build something better for the same price.

Origin/Nucleus action for $850-900

Prefit barrel $350-500

KRG bravo $350 or less. (you have a little money left over to shop around for different chassis/stocks)

the bravo does everything the DD stock does. and looks way better.

Timney $170-180

BTW - if you shop around you can save a few bucks on all the above mentioned items.

i got a savage prefit from xcaliber (works with the actions i mentioned) for $280 when they ran a one day sale

you can get used triggers all day for $150-160