• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Darkened brass after cleaning

BadQ

grumpy old fart
Minuteman
Aug 5, 2019
houston texas
I have been reloading for over 3 decades, so I'm not new to reloading...

I recently had a batch of 338lm brass that I was processing turn dark after cleaning. The only thing I have changed in the last five years is a new case lube. It is an oil based spray product from rcbs. The first time I used it, it stayed on the cases after the ss pin tumble. My fingers turned black while I was rinsing them off, so back in the tumbler with more soap and more limishine. After a second tumble the oil residue was gone. I put them in a toaster oven on warm with a fan to dry them out. The brass comes out looking like it has been sitting in grass at the range for a couple of years. None of my other brass has ever done this. I can hand polish the darkness off, but that will be rather tedious.

Here is brass with a polished case for reference.
20190825_104058.jpg

Looking for thoughts before I have to hand polish another load of brass.

Does seeing your face in the brass make it more accurate or something?

Reactions: quest450
I have been reloading for over 3 decades, so I'm not new to reloading...