• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Data book?

SourMash

Private
Minuteman
Aug 18, 2012
GA
First off, I'm a rookie by you guys standards. I've always been a shooter but never a competitor. I do not see myself competing in any centerfire competitions ever..however, I have recently become very interested in rimfire accuracy. I have a couple of rifles that I'm fond of and one more to purchase. All that being said, I think I should be recording my progress but I don't know what I'm supposed to be writing down, again for all intensive purposes, I'm a rookie. Could you guys point me in the right direction as to what I should be recording? As well as a book that would be set up for .22lr? I can shoot out to 250yds at my range but thats it as far as long range goes. I mostly shoot any where from 25 to 100yds. Thanks in advance,

Andy

https://www.riteintherain.com/no-373-side-spiral-notebook

A standard Rite in the Rain notebook is all you need. I'm sure there is a ton of shit out there that comes in multicam and has a ton of sleeves and pockets and shit, data tables and cool target hit recorders. Whatever, I'm sure they're great. This will get the job done.

I write down the temp/atmospherics, my expected drops/wind calls and my actual dope. If I use my chronograph that day, I'll write down velocity/es/sd. I finish by recording how many shots for my barrel round count. That's about it.

Impact Data Books makes a NRL22 book but basically any of their books will work. Look down in the reference section for help in using a book.

Also at the top of this section of the Hide is a sticky helping with data books by Nomad who owns Impact Data Books.

Reactions: SourMash
I just use a small covered notebook.
I note
DA or pressure/temp/humidity/altitude.