• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Defiance actions.

TEXFIRE%$&

Private
Minuteman
Apr 5, 2020
Montgomery, Texas
Howdy. I am exploring an ELR journey. I’ve done quite a bit of research into equipment.
I have a Defience action in 300WM that I’ve shot out to 1500 yds. I like it a lot.
My question is why are none of the “Big gunners” in the sport not using Defience actions. IMO they have very close tolerances and perform repeatedly well. I have no experience with Bat or the others seen in ELR. Are they inferior compared to the others? If so why?

Defiance is a good action but they don't compare to the Precision quality of a bat. Pierce or Borden as they are 100% competition quality. However the Defiance is a decent action. As far as being inferior yes in many ways depending on what cartridge you're using technically you're restricted to lapua/norma based cases. So if you're planning to build that size or smaller the Defiance is fine

Reactions: TEXFIRE%$&
Warning: I know jack shit about ELR guns specifics.

What I've found is that small communities form very niche requirements about their gear. Example: PRS is dominated by Impact Actions. F Class has a different set of preferred actions. Sometimes its about "follow the leader (see USPSA Prodcution 2010 to 2018 and the Tanfo)", sometimes its about very specific requirements (rifle needs to be single fed for F-Class). Sometimes both. Hopefully an ELR peson can chime in on why they choose what they choose. AS @badassgunworks hinted it may have to do with larger (or custom) bolt faces.

Reactions: TEXFIRE%$&
Because Defiance only make actions up to a Lapua bolt face. For ELR work, this is limits you to the .338 LM/Norma cartridges, or single feeding Tubb's XC cartridges.