• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Define Sitting, Kneeling, etc. in Competition?

Lucks

Team Roberts Precision
Supporter
Minuteman
Jul 16, 2009
Central Texas
I am very new to shooting competitions. In fact, I have only attended 3 matches previously. These matches where all tactical precision rifle (sniper) type matches. My question is simply how do most competitions define shooting Kneeling, Sitting, Standing, etc.

I would define sitting as butt must be on ground.
I would define kneeling as butt can't be on ground.
I would define standing as well....standing!
--is it that simple or our there typically more guidelines than that?

The reason I ask is that I have seen some very unique (and effective) shooting positions that I would have never thought of, and if I had thought of it, I'm not sure I would have believed that it would be accepted in competition. For example, I went to a shoot in Louisiana a while back and some of the guys when shooting "sitting" would lay their rifle across their lap on shooting bags, put the rifle stock in the crook of their arm and look upside down through the top of their scope to shoot. Then in "kneeling" I saw guys on their knees wearing their backpacks backwards on their chests for a rest. I also saw bipods on knees and toes... is all this stuff generally accepted or is a more traditional sitting, kneeling, etc. stance ever demanded at tactical competition.
Thanks for the input...

Re: Define Sitting, Kneeling, etc. in Competition?

There is no governing body for rules of the sport. What is permitted in a match is permitted at the discretion of the match director.