• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

deforming .45 ACP cases w/550b

long-shot

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 6, 2003
Missouri
This is my first attempt at pistol reloading so I have no doubt it's something stupid. I am reloading .45 ACP on a Dillon 550 using RCBS dies that a buddy let me borrow because I couldn't find any dies.

I resize the case, and it fit the cyclinder of my S&W 625. I then move them to power/belling and then to bullet seating. I'm getting a lot of bullets that are sideways in the seater, but even those that aren't don't always feed into my chamber. I then crimp, and only 1 in 5 actually fit the cyclinder.

I've been reloading rifle for years so I'm not a complete idiot when it comes to reloading but obviously I'm doing something wrong here.

My first guess is the dies I'm using aren't new and may not be intended or adjusted properly.

I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance.

jeff

Re: deforming .45 ACP cases w/550b

Might try a little more bell to help align the bullet.
Also some seater dies (Dillon) have a reversable seater stem to better match the bullet. Check to see if yours does. If it does flip it and try the other side.

Does your seater remove any of the bell or is it all up to the taper crimp die?

Dillon dies are the shitzit for dillon presses.