• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

designated marksman unit

sschultz

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 11, 2012
MN
Hello
I am new to sniper's hide( but have been a lurker). I work for a metro area police department and have been approached with finding info on starting a DM unit with our department. Does anyone know of a department that has a DM unit that I could contact for information. If this is not the right area for this I apologize.
schultz

Re: designated marksman unit

Contact the US Army Marksmanship Unit at the Benning School for Boys.

Welcome to the Hide.

"designated marksman unit" ? Don't they already have that but call it special weapons and tactics or have I been smoking grandma's peace pipe too long tonight?

We do have a ERT team. But we want to be able to handle a situation if need be before the swat team could be called in. For example an active shooter.
The idea was to have a number of officers on each shift that be DM trained.
Schultz

You might also consider the NRA, they have or had, a LE Rifle Instructors course, I attended it in the late 80s.

You might also contact Sterling Shooter, a poster here, He does DMR training for the Army and CMP. He could probably fill you in on the program.

Where do you work? On second thought don't answer that. Can't you reach out to any of the surrounding agencies in your area that already have an established unit?

How about your State Police, I'm sure that they'd be able to lead you in the right direction.

What do they mean by "designated marksman unit"? What would be the mission of said unit? Just tryin to figure out if your idea of a "designated marksman" is the same as the folks on the hide. Some common lingo used around law enforcement is "sniper" or "markman/observer".