• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Difference at 100yrds?

DirtyRod

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 4, 2009
Arizona
Hey all,

I've been shooting my stock Remmy 700 for about two months working on the fundamentals. I'm pretty consistently shooting 1.1 - 1.5" 3 shot groups at 100yrds with 147gr bulk ammo. My goal is .5" consistently before moving out to 200.

Saturday, a guy in the next lane handed me two 124 gr loads he worked up for his 700. I put those two in a .24 group and the 150gr round he gave me a little farther out for a 3 shot group of .7. Needless to say it was the best group of the day.

Being new to bolt guns I'm wondering if these were just lucky shots or if loading your own can make that much of a difference at 100 yrds. I figured there was a huge difference further out but didn't think I would see any difference at 100.

(Sorry if this is a repost. It thought I posted this last night but I don't see the message.)

Re: Difference at 100yrds?

I have found that in all my lighter barreled guns that working up loads is imperative
to finding the guns best accuracy. Heavier barrels seem to be a little more forgiving
but it is still needed.
A couple of shots may or may not be indicative of what the gun can do. You should
get his load data and try it out.

The 147 grain bulk ammo you're using probably isn't capable of the accuracy you're striving to obtain. I honestly think that consistent 1" groups are about all you can hope for, and that may even be a bit optimistic.

Have you tried grouping with a known quantity like Federal Gold Medal Match or Black Hills Match? That ammo will give you a better indication of your ability. Shoot some 5-shot groups with Federal GMM and see how you do.