• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advanced Marksmanship Differences shooting gas versus bolt guns?

Phylodog

Hidin since '06
Minuteman
Aug 9, 2006
Arcadia, IN
For those with a good bit of experience behind both, do you change anything when shooting the gas guns? I would consider myself an "experienced" shooter with my bolt gun at this point. I've been shooting AR15/M16 style rifles for almost 20 years now but very little of that was spent working on what I would consider precision shooting.

I recently acquired a LR308 and shot it yesterday for the first time. Instinct tells me to do everything the same but with the substantially different recoil impulse I was wondering if there was anything I could do differently to improve my accuracy potential with this platform?

Are any of the fundamentals different when shooting a gas gun? Firmer hold? More or less loading of the bipod?

Re: Differences shooting gas versus bolt guns?

In my case I do everything the same. The fundamentals dont change with the gun.

I dont expect the same accuracy with the gas gun. If I am able to hold MOA with my AR 10, its all good.

Phylodog said:
For those with a good bit of experience behind both, do you change anything when shooting the gas guns? I would consider myself an "experienced" shooter with my bolt gun at this point. I've been shooting AR15/M16 style rifles for almost 20 years now but very little of that was spent working on what I would consider precision shooting.

Ignore that canard about gasguns not being as accurate as bolt guns. Many people believe that and so expect less from their gasguns. That's mistake number one.