• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Dillon 550/ case trimmer

jetracer013

Private
Minuteman
May 13, 2014
Philadelphia PA
Hello,
I have been using my Dillon 550 to reload pistol rounds for a couple of years now, and now that I have started shooting a bolt gun, I want to begin reloading for precision (308). My question is, is the 550 and the electric case trimmer a suitable option for re-sizing and trimming brass or, does this combo lack the precision I need to be successful. I have read (briefly) that the Whidden floating toolhead will help with the re-sizing and concentricity. Can I mount the trimmer in the same head?

My plan is to begin by processing brass then move on to reloading it as I gather knowledge and supplies.

Thanks,
ML

For precision I would buy a single stage, at least on the 650 the bottom plate does have alittle movement in it and to me that just doesn't scream precision.

Hello,
I have been using my Dillon 550 to reload pistol rounds for a couple of years now, and now that I have started shooting a bolt gun, I want to begin reloading for precision (308). My question is, is the 550 and the electric case trimmer a suitable option for re-sizing and trimming brass or, does this combo lack the precision I need to be successful. I have read (briefly) that the Whidden floating toolhead will help with the re-sizing and concentricity. Can I mount the trimmer in the same head?

My plan is to begin by processing brass then move on to reloading it as I gather knowledge and supplies.

Thanks,
ML