• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Dirty brass

Tactical30

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
May 5, 2009
Eastern Ohio
Im new to reloading and got a RCBS tumbler and tumbled some Black Hills new and remanufactured brass and I let it tumble for 6-7hrs in just regular corn cob media with the RCBS powder polish added and the necks on most of brass is still dirty. On other brass I had tumbled I didnt have this problem. Do I need to tumble it longer or what?
Should I get some walnut media and tumble it in that first then the corn cob?
One other question, Do you have to tumble your brass again after you lube and resize or can you just wip it off? If you did tumble it, how long to get the lube off? An hour or so?
Im picky when it comes to brass if I clean it, it has to sparkle!
I tumbled some TAP brass in the same stuff and that stuff came out shiny as hell!

Re: Dirty brass

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: longrange30</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Im new to reloading and got a RCBS tumbler and tumbled some Black Hills new and remanufactured brass and I let it tumble for 6-7hrs in just regular corn cob media with the RCBS powder polish added and the necks on most of brass is still dirty. On other brass I had tumbled I didnt have this problem. Do I need to tumble it longer or what?
Should I get some walnut media and tumble it in that first then the corn cob?
One other question, Do you have to tumble your brass again after you lube and resize or can you just wip it off? If you did tumble it, how long to get the lube off? An hour or so?
<span style="text-decoration: underline"><span style="font-weight: bold">Im picky when it comes to brass if I clean it, it has to sparkle!</span></span>